The Scottish Forum’s Sustainable Land Management Working Group brings together private and public sector organisations to explore innovative approaches to sustainable land management.

The group aims to promote knowledge sharing amongst members involved in natural capital approaches in land use and management, provide an overview of current activity and experience, and to take opportunities to promote this collectively and individually.

In recent years, the Group has supported the world’s first trial of the Natural Capital Protocol on a land-based business with Crown Estate Scotland. The Group has also worked with Scottish Forestry, Nestlé, and other land-use companies to further trial the Protocol in both the dairy and forestry sectors.

The group is chaired by Kerry Waylen from James Hutton Institute, and coordinated by Julia Clough from the Scottish forum on Natural Capital.


Related category


Updates and further reading:

Summary Updates – August 2022

Terms of Reference – Updated July 2022

Summary Updates – May 2022

Summary Updates – February 2022

Summary Updates – October 2021

Summary Updates – July 2021

Testing natural capital approaches in land-based businesses

Crown Estate Scotland – Dairy Sector Trial findings – February 2020

Summary Updates – May 2019

Natural Capital Protocol trial by Crown Estate Scotland

Natural Capital Protocol